The Quad City Engineering
and Science Council (QCESC)

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 1166
Bettendorf, IA 52722-0020


The purpose of the QCESC awards is to pay tribute and recognize Engineering and Science Professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and their profession. This includes helping to promote and raise the awareness of STEM (Engineering, Science, Technology, and Mathematics) education and careers in our local communities including in our schools.

At its 52nd Annual National Engineers Week Banquet, the Quad City Engineering and Science Council recognized (l to r):  Kimberly Gasaway (QCESC President), David Stephan (Senior Engineer), Greg Smith (front, STEM Teacher), Eric Reinsch (back, Junior Engineer), Lain Pacini (Junior Scientist), Jeff Richland (STEM Volunteer), Bernie Romig (Senior Engineer), Matt Zager (ASCE, Society of the Year) and Lyle Stephens (Lifetime Achievement).  Not present: Michael Knott (Senior Scientist).

Application for 2015 Awards 

  • Applications will be out in the Fall of 2014
  • The awards will be presented at the Annual National Engineers Week Banquet tentatively scheduled for February 2015.


Past Award Recipients Listed by Year (1966 - 2014)

The awards were first established in 1966 initially with the Engineer of the Year award.  Since then, additional awards have been added including for:

  • 1995 - Scientist of the Year
  • 2000 - Society of the Year
  • 2007 - Lifetime Achievement
  • 2010 - STEM Teacher of the Year

For further information about the QCESC Awards, please e-mail Dave Smith, QCESC Award Chair.



All Rights Reserved © The Quad City Engineering and Science Council 2014